Meet the Designer

Meet the Designer

Meet Lorena, the babe behind On the Lo designs. 
Hello Babes, Lorena here!

I inherited my obsession for Brazilian swimwear as far back as I can remember. There’s a picture of me at age 7 wearing a Brazilian bikini while I still lived in Brazil. These pictures of me ignited a passion that was laying dormant in me for years. 
All my life, I struggled  finding the perfect bikini. I would buy my tops in the States, and my bottoms in Brazil- because I’ve always loved their flattering cheeky cuts. I have been fond of beach and swimwear forever!! Yet, I would have never guessed one day- I would design my own suits! I used to say that I wasn’t creative, but found my creative outlet designing suits. I noticed the lack of swimwear in the area I lived in (Arcata, Ca.), so I decided to bridge this gap and provide flattering swimwear for women of all shapes and sizes. I wanted to provide suits that enhanced every woman's mood and look.

On The Lo Swimwear was founded in the summer of 2018. I decided to take entrepreneur classes at the local SBDC and finally fill the space that so desperately needed something new: comfortable yet sexy Brazilian swimwear made for all women.

Giving back to the community is something that is very important to me. On The Lo Swimwear is proudly a for women by women business that supports both the Brazilian, and American economy. 
Learn more about our lovely seamstress; Giovana, on our Bad Ass Babes Crew. (Click on “Meet the Seamstress” to learn about Giovana.)

Today, I live in Humboldt County, California. While my first priority is running On The Lo Swimwear, I also work another full time side job.

My favorite part of owning my own business is connecting and collaborating with both clients, and friends. I love empowering my clients by helping them find a suit that will make them feel, comfortable, genuine and free- where they can tap into their power, and own it!
More about me:

I was born in Brazil in 1989 and moved to the States in 1997. I was raised in a town west of Boston, Framingham, MA. I graduated from the University of Massachusetts where I earned a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology and a Bachelor’s of Art in Spanish. After graduating I taught preschool in Slovakia for about six months- then moved to Northern California in 2014. 

A Few of my Favorite Things:

Music: Afro Beats, Reggaeton, Hip-Hop, Brazilian genres & more. 

Food: Anything vegan! 

Travel: Anywhere! I’m always up for an adventure! But I prefer, hot weather close to water.

Sign: Saggitarius sun, Aquarius rising, and Scorpio moon. 

Hobbies: Hot yoga, Boxing, and Hiking

Colors: Black, Teal, Army Green and Maroon.  

Drink: Silver Tequila or a “Thai me Up” from Salt Fishhouse 
Kisses! XoXo
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.